116 Countries join Australia's call for an independent coronavirus inquiry

The number of countries backing Australia's push for an independent coronavirus inquiry has grown after 54 African nations agreed to co-sponsor the motion.

Other countries involved in the call for an inquiry include Russia, Indonesia, India, Japan, Britain and Canada.

All 27 members of the European Union are on board, as is Brazil, South Korean, Mexico, Turkey and New Zealand.

The countries are calling for an impartial, independent and comprehensive evaluation of the international response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

China is not mentioned, but Australia's push for the inquiry has angered the Chinese government who has threatened a major tariff on barley and some beef imports.

Health minister Greg Hunt will represent Australia at the virtual World Health Assembly meeting tonight where a vote on the inquiry is expected early Tuesday Morning.


8 views0 comments

Well Together 

Supporting Each Other During COVID-19

02 9477 8700

We gratefully acknowledge the financial and other support from Northern Sydney PHN, Gold Coast PHN, the NSW & QLD State Government Departments of Health, the icare Foundation, the Commonwealth Department of Health and the National Disability Insurance Agency.